My newbie slo prob ... your ez solution

Grunter

Newbie here. Don't know what to expect but service seems slow. (daze to download 40 minute video !!!???!!!)

Given: 1.2Mb down 320 up DSL service (sbcglobal/att)

uTorrent 1.7.7 just installed

Observed:

Yellow warning triangle at screen bottom (always).

< 5kb down and < 8kb up speed. Seeds 3(6) Peers 1(11) on this test.

I paused this torrent, and ran OO as test.

tested using OO (OpenOffice) and noted >150kb down. Unpaused current test,

it ran ~75kb for a short while then dropped to the 5 down, 8-ish up speed.

I've read lots of posts here and did some searching.

(4-5 hours worth)

First I tried to resolve the triangle issue. I visited my router, linksys BEFW11S4V4

and set according to the suggestions:

1) Block WAN Request: DISABLE

2) Set port forwarding (sample number: 21200)

External Port 21200 to 21200 TCP (Checked) UDP (Unchecked)

Set (internal) IP to this one computer (of 15), Enable(checked)

(Applied)

Then I went to the firewall (XP MC 2002, SP2, AMD 64 3700+)

LAN -> Properties -> Advanced -> Settings -> Exceptions

Add Programs: uTorrent (program path) Scope (Any Computer...)

Add Port: Name:: uTorrent 21200

Port number:21200

TCP (Checked)

(Saved)

Advanced Tab -> Services -> Add

Desc: uTorrent 21200

Computer name or IP: IP entered (192.168.0.xx)

External Port number for this service: 21200

Internal Port number for this service: 21200

Service is checked.

(All ICMP are unchecked)

Summary of initial setup:

I believe I have opened a port at the router, then forwarded it to one machine.

I then accessed that machines firewall and allowed the program access, and to that port. I have enabled that port on that machine.

I then rebooted the machine to force the changes (Is this really required ???).

I restarted uTorrent. I un-paused the 1st torrent and the results are as I posted in the beginningl, occuring at 9am PST 12 noon PST (GMT-8)