Creating a tracker

penang

Hello !

I am a newbie on the bittorent scene, so I need help on how to create a tracker.

Specifically, if I have something that I want to share with the world via bittorent (or utorrent for the matter), the info that I've read so far tells me that I need to create a tracker.

So I follow the howtos in trying to create a tracker, but at the "annouce url" thing I got stuck.

What do I put in it? I mean, what url should I put in it?

Let's say, I have a video that is residing on my harddisk, specifically, it's on a "movie" subdirectory on my desktop (assuming I am using Win XP for the moment).

How do I know what url should I put in?

I have tried to search for more information on the topic of "annouce url" but so far I haven't found something that tells me exactly what url should I put.

So please help.

Thank you !!

a tracker is a server which coordinates and distributes the IP of all connected torrent clients. when you create a torrent, you have to use the announce url of the specified tracker. for example, the worlds biggest tracker (thepiratebay.org) uses the tracker url http://tpb.tracker.thepiratebay.org:80/announce .

If you want to upload your torrent to tpb, then you have to use this url.

As I say, I am a newbie and my question may be totally irrelevant here. If I've offended anyone here sorry.

But I have read all the things that I can get online and there are still gaps here and there that I still haven't figured out.

I am very appreciative of the help I got on the "announce url" matter. Now I can make "torrent tickets" but when I submit the torrent ticket to www.mininova.org/upload , for example, I got the error message (please see below)

==========================================

Error while uploading

Error message was: This torrent has no invalid trackers. Either the trackers don't exist, are currently down or do not allow scraping.

==========================================