Still recieving connections after utorrent is closed

wis3warrior

After closing utorrent I am still getting unsolicited traffic trying to connect to my computer. My firewall log is filled with activity from multiple Ips and both Tcp and udp Protocols but all have the same port destination of 33525. I'm pretty new to bit-torrent but I know I shouldn't be receiving all this unsolicited traffic should I? I have pretty much everything set to default. I use upnp instead of port forwarding and have utorrent allowed in my firewalls filter. Do I have something setup improperly? How do I fix this problem? -Thanks For Your Help

wis3warrior, as DreadWingKnight says, some peers know you're gone at the very moment you sign off, but others have to find out on their own, and this, in computer networks, has always been done (more or less) by asking if the connection is there and, if there isn't an answer in a certain time, they consider it as dead/closed. The matter is knowing what time takes those peers to figure it out, and it usually depends on the protocol itself, also in settings the user might have chosen if the program allows it.

So, since that is something the other peers decide, there's absolutely nothing you can do about it.

Anyway don't worry, there should be little to no risk at all with that fact happening. If you've configured your pc as it's usually done, the only application listening on that port should be utorrent, so nothing would happen to you then.

Ok well as long as there isn't a security risk it doesn't bother me I guess that was my main concern. One other thing I just thought of to ask though,will this slow down my network bandwidth at all? Seems like it would since all these peers are constantly trying to connect.

DreadWingKnight:I'm using Mcafee for antivirus & spyware protection and pc tools firewall plus for my firewall.