Traffic overload even after uninstall/reformat

imatechguy

I'm rather new at this and after a polite but not so nice email from my ISP, unfortunately, I won't be getting any additional experience and removed all torrent associated files and programs.

I was concerned when uTorrent was installed because my PC was significantly slower performing task than it had been before I installed it. It would start out fine upon boot-up or waking from stand-by but after a few minutes it would slow significantly when trying to open/use any other program. After using the pause and stop buttons in the GUI for all torrent downloading and seeding, with no effect; I began browsing the FAQ, the guides and the forums for solutions. None of these sources provided a solution unfortunately. So this reduced usability coupled with the email from my ISP prompted me to cease my torrent activity.

So I wiped the drives, did a fresh install of XP and almost immediately after reconnecting to the internet with just the OS and security programs installed I experienced severe slow downs again. Checking the firewall it seems there is a connection attempt every couple of seconds on the previous port I had set up for uTorrent to use. With less than 18 hours of run time on this reformat my firewall has logged well over 66,000 connection attempts. Since I'd already deleted the torrent files, and then reformated my system I'm left wondering why there are so many connection attempts repeatedly being made. I'd understand if it was occasional attempts by the tracker sites (is that even how trackers work?) to "see" if I was seeding but this seems to be the end user traffic and each one comes through multiple times.