uTorrent kills and stops making connections

aformalevent

so i've been noticing an ongoing problem for the last 6 months or so where uTorrent will spontaneously drop all connections and refuse to make new ones. I originally noticed it when utorrent refused to connect to peers (although it displays a correct peer count) on a new torrent i was downloading. on further inspection no torrents were connecting for uploads or downloads and no traffic was ongoing. I've been able to, repeatedly, fix the problem by uninstalling and re-installing uTorrent while keeping the same settings and my resume.dat . I'm running the windows client and recently have stayed updated with the new releases, but this has happened over a series of uTorrent releases, beginning back with 1.8.x. I'm an avid torrent user with >2000 torrents seeding at a time. I've always loved uTorrent and had never had this problem until i would think 6 or 8 months ago, and it is intermittent but seems to happen more so when i add a bunch of new torrents to the queue (like 10 or more torrents). they'll get part way and then uTorrent just stops all bandwidth. a quick uninstall and re-install has fixed the problem every time, with any version of uTorrent. Does anyone have any idea what is going on or how i can avoid this? it's very irritating when this happens just as I leave my computer for a few days and I end up missing days of upload to the downtime.

thank you for any help you can provide. i'll be happy to give more information if I can.

I'm behind a dlink router and a cable modem. my internet other than uTorrent does not alter it operation when these problems occur. restarting them does not fix the problem.

I have avast anti-virus and spy-bot search and destroy running on my computer. avast is disabled for p2p monitoring.

it's a d-link wbr-130, hardware rev B1, firmware 2.0 and a motorola sb5102 modem.

• 1 month later...