AT&T DSL Modem 2701HG-B Reconnect Cycle

ccoltmanm

I have a AT&T DSL Modem, 2701HG-B that is a modem/wireless router. For the most part, it gives good speed and a strong signal. However, I am running into a major problem.

I have several computers hooked up via Ethernet, and two computers hooked up via wifi. One is a desktop, one a laptop. I am running uTorrent on them, for patches such as Relic's Company of Heroes, http://cohpatch.relic.com/, which only provide torrent links (Smart in my opinion), as well as acquiring free animations to show to my classes for educational purposes (really, i am a computer animation professor).

Well, the laptop runs this great, no problem. But it sucks having to transfer big files over to the desktop when i need to, and sometimes I keep my laptop in my bag between classes. So, I use my desktop. The problem here is that every 2-3 minutes of downloading the modem disconnects and reconnects to the internet. This causes a disruption in uTorrent, any internet surfing i am doing, and is just an inconvenience and shouldn't be happening.

AT&T has been no help at all, and what I really think is happening is that the modem can't keep up with the transfer of packets and info that my desktop is sending. I don't know why this doesn't work with my laptop, maybe you guys have ideas.

I was able to pinpoint a possible cause, something called "excessive sessions." Since uTorrent works with a lot of users, the modem thinks there is a virus on my desktop asking for info and sending it very quickly. Some sort of a blaster virus. Well, I can't disable this detection, thus I can't stop the modem from constantly cycling in a reconnect.

When I have uTorrent turned off, I run into NO problems at all. Help me out, is there a setting I can use to allow the modem to give me all the sessions I want? I'm thinking of buying a better DSL modem and trying to make AT&T take this one back since it isn't working out for me. I've only had it a few days. Ideas?