Found Great Speedup Tweak for uTorrent !!! (and I'm a bit angry)

BlaDiBla

This tweek sped up all my torrent downloads to near maximum download speed (16 Mbit in my case) with this:

In the status bar of the mail uTorrent window, the current dowload speed is shown.

- Right click on that and a menu opens to set the maximum download speed

The default is 0 == unlimited (NOT!).

- Now select a speed that is much higher than your actual maximum download speed.

You might have to right-click a few times because the options are relative to the current max.

At voila: Torrent download speeds will increase to your maximum bandwith.

Works great for me and my friend. Does is work for you?

And I'm a bit angry because I've been using uTorrent for a few years now at slow download speeds.

Developers, are you reading this?? This should be the *DEFAULT* behavior !!

Phew, ok, I can rest a bit now :-).

Happy sharing, Cheers, Richard

This is going to sound weird but I was just curious and I took my download off unlimited and set it to 1000K and my downloads shot up from 500 to 800. Went back to unlimited and my downloads went back down to 500. Could be just my imagination but for some odd reason that worked for me lol.

Hi Switeck,

I've looked at the trouble shooting guide but it does'n seem to apply.

A bit more info:

- We tested it on a newly opened, heavily seeded torrent. (so upload bandwith was near 0)

- This was the only active torrent (so # of connections was low)

- The speedup / slowdown was reproducable 3 times within ~ 10 seconds

by ' setting to high' / 'unlimiting (0)' the max download speed respectively.

- It seems that hobbit25 is the 4th confirmation of the problem.

So, happy debugging :-),

Cheers,

Richard