Disk Cache Not Being Written? Disk Overloaded 100%

TheCloudlessSky

Hello,

I've been using utorrent for a while now with no issues. My max download speed is around 620kB/s which is nice to download a lot at once. I've been downloading with utorrent for about 2 years now. I have a 250 GB partition (from a WD Caviar SE hdd) that I use for downloading to. The drive is about 80% full right now. Since about a week ago I've been noticing that utorrent will stop downloading for a little while, my computer will lock up and then it'll go back to normal. If I monitor the speed you can see it go up and up to the 620 kB/s and then drop. Then I found out there was a "Disk Overloaded 100%" message down at the bottom. Then I watched the following:

utorrentup4.th.jpg

It's very interesting to see that the Disk Cache DOESN'T get written to the partition. The cache keeps increasing and increasing until it hits the 32 MB and then this is when the disk overloaded 100% error comes up.

If there is anything else I can provide to aid I will do so! If someone can help me it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

TCS

i was having the same problem, luckily i got help here and for the most part got it figured out. i still get the disk overload if i am trying to download LARGE files or many larger files at once, due to the fact it is preallocating the files on the hard drive and it just takes time. i am not sure what your settings are, but this is what i have mine at and has helped significantly:

under preferences, go to Advanced/Disk Cache

Override automatic cache size - set to 64 MB, or play around with the numbers

reduce memory usage

all boxes for enable caching of disk writes

all boxes for enable caching of disk reads except increase automatic

disable windows caching of disk writes

and make sure that after you set those, you exit and restart utorrent. hope that helps!

When you get the Disk Overloaded message, are you usually running torrents with 2-4 MB piece size?