55.8% and holding and wondering why?

Fire Monkey

Ok, I have been sitting at 55.8% done for the last 5 days - most of that time I see seeders listed as 0(2) and peers as 4(17) or something similar - occationally I get seeders as 1(2) but most of the time that 1 either doesn't seem to allow donloading or I get [and I'm not kidding] speeds like 0.2k for a few minutes and then they go away. Now I did reach the 55.8% because of a seeder [had been at 30 something and a seeder connected for a while with a speed of about 40k and boasted it up] but all in all, this seems to be most un-friendly behaviour - now in the last 5 days I have staye connected and quite a few people have downloadedd from me but it has been quite one sided and I'm starting to wonder if this is typical. Understand that I am new at this whole torrent thing so I don't know what is normal to expect - but 2 things are striking me ... first, almost all the time there has been a significantly larger number of people in brackets that I don't seem to have any way to connect with - am I missing something here? Is there something I should be ddoing to make my system connect with their system? I thought all that wwas automatic,,, and 2, it seems that a lot of people, even when they have relevence, choose to take but not give - and if so, that rather defeats the whole concept of torrents doesn't it? Maybe I'm just unlucky with the particular torrent I happen to be trying to aquire at this moment but if this is typical, it seems to me that the whole system is rather flawed by the human element.

So I guess I'm really asking 2 things - 1) is this just a bad example of an typically better experience and 2) is there something I should be doing differently that would improve my chances in moving past the 55.8% done point?