How to completely remove utorrent's icon from System Tray?

shanu_bhaiya

OS - Windows XP SP2

PROGRAM - utorrent 1.7.7

PROBLEM - How can I completely remove the icon of utorrent from the System Tray of the Task Bar, or make it invisible "completely"? So that even after starting up of the PC it starts but doesn't show up in the system tray?

TRIALS - I tried to use Resource Hacker to replace it's icon with a blank icon but it didn't work or I did some faults, please explain if you use the same method.

Where to append /HIDE, are you talking of msconfig, I can't append /HIDE there. Please be specific in the solution, I'm not an expert!

In FAQs, I don't understand %AppData%\uTorrent, if it is C:\Documents and Settings\(user)\Application Data\uTorrent, then the provided method didn't work.

Now, there is a new problem! I put the /HIDE in the HKCU but after every restart of the PC, it is automatically removed. So, I tried to do the same with HKLM, but then again a string value in HKCU was automatically made for startup of utorrent without the /HIDE command. If I uncheck the automatically made new string value in HKCU in msconfig, it automatically checks in every restart of the PC.

How can I make a permanent startup of utorrent with /HIDE command?

• 1 month later...
  • 4 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...
  • 4 months later...

You could just make a completely transparent Windows icon and place it in the uTorrent Appdata folder. I did this with The Gimp, and it works perfectly. The only problem is that there is just a little blank space on the taskbar when uTorrent is open. You can disable bubble notifications to achieve even more secrecy, if you'd like. It's not a perfect solution, but it's a very simple one.

• 3 years later...
  • 4 weeks later...