Using uTorrent 2.0 with It's Hidden VPN

radium

I've been using uTorrent for some time now but I'm a VPN newbie. I've started using It's Hidden (itshidden.com) VPN servers to anonymize my web surfing. As instructed at the It's Hidden web site, I set up a VPN in Windows XP Home SP3 and connected. Checks at various DNS info sites indicated that the IP address they were seeing was one assigned by It's Hidden, not by my ISP.

Without any changes to uTorrent 2's or my router's configuration including port forwarding, uTorrent appears to be operating normally.

My question is, under these circumstances, is uTorrent using the VPN? Is my torrenting as anonymous as my web surfing?

severedsolo, moogly & DreadWingKnight - thanks for your replies.

You have given me confidence to use Its Hidden. However, I've run into an issue using it. For some reason, while using it for torrent downloads, either Its Hidden or more likely my ISP provider is resetting the WAN connection. The result is that at some point, unless I'm careful and notice, the PC will revert back to the standard non-VPN network connection.

This is not a uTorrent issue, but I thought I'd include it here for those uTorrent users that might be considering Its Hidden. Note: I purchased a one month premium Its Hidden membership so this issue is not just a consequence of using a free membership.

Hi,

I do have the same problem. I use relakks to anonymize my downloads but from time to time I get disconnected from VPN and never reconnected. At this point I am visible and traceable.

Does anyone know if I can tell utorrent to download only if the vpn is on? Alternatively, is there a windows power shell guru able to give me a script to kill utorrent when the vpn goes down?

I can only program under linux shell :(

• 2 weeks later...