3.5.5 (46010) crashing(?) win 10

flashfletch100

Hi torrenters

I have been using utorrent for 10+ years on a number of different installations (from win 7 to 10 - fully updated) and been really happy with it most of the time but recently (12 months or so) I have had odd things happening. I have nearly 1200 torrents that I am seeding and leave my system running constantly. I am now finding that randomly (from a few hours to a week or more, recently it has been much more frequent, hence my request for help) utorrent will stop responding and the only way I can get it back is to use Task Manager to stop it. Alternatively, when I come back to the computer after a period of inactivity it will either appear to wake up and allow me to open a window then freeze with the only option to do a hard restart, or I can't even get the system to wake with a half dozen or so mouse clicks and then a 'squeak' (buffer full??) and a hard restart. I can't even use crtl-alt-del to access the power option and do a restart/shutdown - they both hang.

I am running the system now without utorrent and there appears to be no problem (but I will give it some more time to be sure) ... still no problem after 24 hours or so.

Any suggestions?  I have thought of simply uninstalling utorrent and reinstalling a fresh version, but I don't want to have to restart/stop 1200 torrents ...

Edit: It also appears that there is some kind of memory leak with my current utorrent iteration. With utorrent running memory usage on my system climbs from ~50% to 75+% over two or three days (if my system remains usable for that long). Without utorrent running, memory usage has risen from 41% to 43% over the last 48 hours ...

flashfletch100

Edited by flashfletch100
More information relevant to problem

On 5/26/2021 at 3:42 PM, flashfletch100 said:

Hi torrenters