1.8 killing browser performance

fodor4

I'm a newbie, but have been using uTorrent for some time.

Last week I upgraded to ver.1.8. I like the look and added info. Seems to be working fine.

My problem is that my browsers (AOL9.1 and IE7) seem to be really dogged down when I run torrents. Pages catch and error messages pop up. Constantly need to refresh. Pages load really slow. When not running torrents the browsers run great.

I didn't have this problem with ver.1.7.7. It affected the browser speed a little but not like with 1.8. This is even happening with running just one torrent.

I'm running WinVista on Dual Core AMD 2.81GHz processor with 3 GB RAM. Cable broadband connection.

The 2nd link in my signature gives suggested settings for uTorrent based on your max sustainable UPLOAD speed.

NOTE: Max sustainable UPLOAD speed is nowhere near max download speed for almost every internet connection in existence.

You may want to use lower settings than your connection can handle because it is shared with others or due to monthly bandwidth quotas.

I recognize it's my upload max. Actually the speed test indicated upload speed around 450 kb/s. (download about 7500 kb/s) However if I understand the settings correctly, this really restricts the number of torrents I can run simultaneously. At xx/512kb setting, it says I can only have three active torrents. On occasion, I have had up to 8 or so. With ver1.7.7 this affected browser performance to a degree, but didn't lock everything up on my browsers.

I have been looking at this setting as a compromise between browser performance and utility of uTorrent. Do you suggest that I drop my speed setting to the indicated upload speed (450k) and live with the torrent restrictions?

The more you connect to peers the more data you're sending up the pipe, making your uploading for DATA less.