PeerBlock block ports essential for Falcon

TEEDLE

It seems that PeerBlock blocks some ports essential for Falcon to work. They seem for fall under the lists "Advertising" and "Education" (I have found that with all my other lists enabled and these two disabled, Falcon will still connect). Is there a list available of ip's necessary for Falcon so that I can create an "Allow List"?

Thank you for the info. I had not been aware of this built in feature and have since removed PB. What is your recommendation for an ipfilter.dat source? It seems most people mention blocklistpro.com or a sourceforge site.

Old; I know, but the misinformation is too important to combat to ignore this.

I've been using PeerBlock V1 for a few months now. Prior to that I used PG, for a LONG time, too long to remember. PBv1 supports/runs properly on x64 systems.

You're going to get a near 50/50 split on the use of block lists.

I live and die by this. It RELIABLY blocks advertising, malware hosting, outgoing call-home software, et cetera, and on....

No one should use it as their ONLY security, and all should research what they are blocking and allowing. I also use AV software and have modified the hosts file as well.

Simply stating that the type of software is "useless" is going overboard. The Software Updates list also saved my work after Microsoft was forced to release a non-requested, can not block, update REMOVING some XML support from Office. Had the silent update gone through, I'd loose access to many created works.

Such software has its place, and that should be acknowledged regardless of one's personal feelings. I could make the same "useless" comment about MANY programs, that I dislike/hate, but others love. I'd be equally out of place without context.

• 6 months later...

We can't give you a list of IPs, because we dynamically provision servers and the IP addresses can change at any time.