Port forwarding not needed with cable modem? Router recommendation?

NeoIsis

Hi, I'd like to first thank folks for all their work on this. I am new at this whole thing.

I have a PC running Windows XP SP2

Comcast Cable Internet

cable modem but no router

McAffee firewall & Windows firewall.

1. I just want to confirm what I read on the portforward.com site that i do NOT need to forward ports or have a static IP do it if I have no router, only a cable modem.

I have Comcast cable internet. I used to have a modem that had some router functions but when I was having trouble with my connection they replaced the router with a Motorola Surfboard which I understand is (at least USUALLY) just a plain cable modem ( apparently it can be remotely programmed by the ISP to make private IP addresses, but my IP address is not within the range listed for that problem) http://forum.portforward.com/YaBB.cgi?board=Knowledge;action=display;num=1139203595

2. I am thinking I should maybe have a router for security reasons and because I would like to share this Internet connection for my laptop. Any recommendations for what I should get? (The desktop is a PC and my laptop is a Mac, in case that makes any diff. A mixed marriage.)

Thanks y'all!

1. I just want to confirm what I read on the portforward.com site that i do NOT need to forward ports or have a static IP do it if I have no router, only a cable modem.

Some cablemodems have built in routers as you're aware, but if the IP address you have is not in the ranges defined in RFC1918, yours is not a router.

I have Comcast cable internet.

Known bittorrent-hostile ISP

2. I am thinking I should maybe have a router for security reasons and because I would like to share this Internet connection for my laptop. Any recommendations for what I should get?

Linksys WRT54GL or WRT350N because of the high quality firmwares available for them.

(The desktop is a PC and my laptop is a Mac, in case that makes any diff. A mixed marriage.)