BitComet 0.61 built in deception

Dark Shroud

I'm currently using BitComet 0.61 to download 2 very large & very slow torrents. This is my first time using BitComet for more than 2 minutes to check out how new versions. Anyway, it reports to the tracker as Mainline Bittorrent 3.4.2. And I cannot find an option to turn this off. Now I did have version 0.60 installed previously. But I have not installed any cheater patches to it. I find this disturbing.

Yes, it's starting to annoy me at the two private trackers I use. Granted I had started to use 0.60 to leech off a torrent that I've been downloading from for 3 weeks already, it's almost 22gig in size with only one seed & 15 peers. But I upgraded to 0.61 when it came out. I send out pms through BitComet's nice chat feature telling people to upgrade and I'm ignored. These people just don't want to play by the rules. So I block 0.60 back to 0.56 in Azureus and I don't feel bad about it.

While there are a few features in bitcomet that makes it the only choice for some people (NAT Traversal for people with no control over their port-forwarding, Proxy Authentication, etc), Most of them simply dont want to switch because they know bitcomet will give them the 'best speeds', regardless of how those speeds are obtained.

While there are a few features in bitcomet that makes it the only choice for some people (NAT Traversal for people with no control over their port-forwarding, Proxy Authentication, etc), Most of them simply dont want to switch because they know bitcomet will give them the 'best speeds', regardless of how those speeds are obtained.